This was originally written on 2-15-11

This was supposed to be posted yesterday but my internet was not working… So, a day late.

Ahhh Valentine’s Day. I don’t think there is any other day that has so many opinions. Note that I did not use the word “holiday”. Some people think it is a day for love while the other side considers this a “Hallmark” day. In all honesty, I don’t find anything grand about this date. At times, it is hard not to get a teensy jealous watching all the other coworkers and friends receive roses or gifts from their significant others. We all want to be pampered, admired and loved. But why should it be for just one day out of the year? Our significant others should be doing that all year long to remind us just how special we are. I’m not saying each day, but just every so often. And it doesn’t have to be anything expensive or impressive. Just with any other subject in life, it’s the little things that count.

Personally, I would rather receive roses and/or gift on a day that is not expected. I want it to be a surprise. This is when you feel extremely special because no one else is receiving them. That, and for the fact you get to toot your own horn that day. Keep the tooting to a minimum though; we already know how special you are.

On this day in the past I was usually single and bitter. But I have been talking more with a friend/coworker that is a positive person whose positivity has been rubbing off onto me without even knowing it. Her magic is contagious. I recently realized that I am looking at situations more with light rather than darkness. It’s easy to be negative and not fight for anything while sitting in the darkness. But rather not being able to see, I happened to find a flashlight. With the bright light streaming out from it I found a light bulb that I did not realize before. I turned it on and now I can almost see everything. There is still a dark corner but I am working on it.

Single people should rejoice on this day! You get to be completely selfish! You don’t need to find a gift for someone. In fact, go buy yourself something. There is nothing wrong with picking up flowers for yourself at the grocery store. You also don’t need to dote on anyone; you can be as lazy as you want to be. And you don’t need to have the worry that everything will hopefully go as planned! You don’t have to deal with waiting forever for your meal because the restaurants are at full capacity. See—no reason to be so sour on Valentine’s Day. There are good reasons to be single and happy on this day.

