This was originally written on 3/10/11

Lupus patients can finally rejoice. After 56 long years, there is finally a new medication designed for people with Lupus. On Wednesday, March 9, 2011, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved Benlysta. This costly medication (around $30,000) is an injection that lessens pain and flare-ups caused by Lupus. It looks like the percentage of this actually working for patients is low—a mere 35 percent. Not only that, but it seems to have no effect on African-Americans. It also appears that this new medication is not for patients who have the worst cases which make me ponder this information because in January I was told I would not be able to take Benlysta as I am not “sick enough.” This is contradicting and I plan on asking my rheumatologist for answers at my next appointment in April. Also–how do you measure to see if someone is “sick enough”?

You can read more on the foxnews website

http://www.foxnews.com/health/2011/03/10/approves-new-drug-lupus-56-years/?test=latestnews#

